RIP Chris Cornell

imagesA2AL8SUB

Today we learned the sad news that Chris Cornell passed away age 52.

He was an incredibly talented musician, who had an amazing voice, and will be sorely missed by his fans. I cannot imagine what those who knew him must be going through.

Personally, I have been a huge fan of Chris Cornell, ever since I first heard of him. I thought he was the most beautiful man I had ever seen, and his voice captivated me, it was so powerful. He had a way of conveying emotion very subtly in his voice, and I started trying to listen to and devour whatever I could get my hands on (being of the generation that wasn’t born into a world with YouTube, that wasn’t easy), but I couldn’t get enough of the feeling listening to him and his music gave me.

images

Be it Soundgarden, Temple of the Dog, Audioslave or solo stuff I loved all of it.

Grunge music is a huge part of my life, and to me is home. People like Chris Cornell, Eddie Vedder, Scott Weiland, Layne Stayley, Dave Grohl etc, these people are my imaginary family, the artists who give my life such a beauty, help me find meaning, find myself. Their music is a safe haven that I can retreat to, a comfort blanket I can wrap myself in, a way of connecting with my inner self.

untitled

When Scott Weiland died I was shocked, but I wasn’t surprised. It was incredibly tragic, but it was not a surprise. With some people, I guess somewhere in the back of your head, you don’t give them an old age life expectancy. But Chris Cornell, it’s different. I am stunned, speechless.

I was lucky enough to see Soundgarden in 2012 or 2013, whichever year they played Download, and my god they were amazing. I always wanted to see them again, but instead I shall dig out the photos and videos and make sure that I have double, triple backed them up.

imagesSK0L9O62

I recently found on YouTube a video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuUDRU9-HRk) of him covering “Nothing Compares 2 U” and I have played it numerous times, the stripped back sound meaning his voice rings clear, and you can hear every intonation, every note

To me, he will always be one of the world’s most sexy, gorgeous men, one of the world’s best singers and best musicians.

I wish I could thank him for everything he has given me.

imagesttt

 

 

Leave a comment